Reflections on Osama Bin Laden’s Death

Last night I was catching up on some DVR’d shows and actually had my laptop shut when I saw a tweet on my phone from my t0-be brother-in-law, “So long Osama it was real.”

Heather had her computer on so I asked her to look at a news source’s website.  CNN.com, no clear indication of what was going on.  Yahoo.com, no clear indication of what was going on.  She went to twitter and there it was, Osama Bin Laden was dead.  The President had not yet formally addressed the country, but there was no doubt that this would be the news he shared when he did step to the podium at the White House.

I stayed up later than usual last night watching coverage, following conversation on twitter, and reflecting.  This morning I was finally able to put my thoughts into a few words and tweeted, “We hated OBL for dehumanizing others and celebrating death. I struggle this morning in fear of doing the same.”  Again today I have been thinking about this. A lot.

In no particular order some of my thoughts include:

  • I am against capital punishment.
  • I believe God created all life.
  • I believe God values all life.
  • I am not sad to hear that Osama Bin Laden is dead.
  • I definitely don’t feel “dancing in the streets waving a flag” happy that he’s dead.
  • Will this really make our country safer? Our world safer?
  • I don’t really understand how this brings closure for those who lost loved ones in the 9/11 attack.
I have also appreciated many things I have seen/read today as others reflect on this:
None of this has yet gelled together into a coherent statement that I can make with any clarity greater than I did this morning, “We hated OBL for dehumanizing others and celebrating death. I struggle this morning in fear of doing the same.”
And so I pray.
And I invite you to pray.
For healing.
For peace.
For thoughtful discourse.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

