Personal Mission Statement?

I have heard people talk about how helpful it can be to have a personal mission statement, but I haven’t ever given it a lot of serious thought.  However, I had an epiphany of sorts yesterday and think I may be on to something.

While serving a church in seminary I one day made a statement along these lines, “I really only have one sermon, ‘God loves you, do justice.’  Sometimes I might emphasize one aspect of that more than the other, but that’s the core of everything I preach.”

Somewhere over the years that evolved into this, “God loves us exactly the way we are, but doesn’t want us to stay that way.”  I made this statement at Tonganoxie UMC last week during my introductory meeting and Heather quipped something along the lines of, “Now you never have to listen to him preach again.  You have heard his sermon.”  It got quite the laugh!

Yesterday afternoon I was driving down the road playing around with hanging words on that idea and the following hit me as a description of what I hope to be about,

Growing in and helping others know Christ’s transformative love.

How about you?  Do you have a personal mission statement?  If you do, how have you found it to be helpful or guiding in your life?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Personal Mission Statement?

  1. I consider my ‘life verse’ to be Phil 4:8:

    “Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. ” (NRS)

    Since I work in IT, and many of my family are also in the military, I have a penchant for acronyms. The above verse reminds me of GIGO (Garbage In, Garbage Out) so I ‘flip’ that internally/spiritually as ‘God’s Love In, God’s Love Out.’

  2. DC

    Every few years we get pestered at school to write a new mission statement. The administration is always looking for some long-winded statement with lots of phrases, promises, and belief statements. I’ve handed the same one in every time for almost 39 years now, but they never use it. Nevertheless this works for me: Pass through your day doing good for others, keeping in mind that others have needs that are probably more important than your own. Before closing your eyes at night, thank God for His help during the day and ask forgiveness for the slights you never even realized you missed a chance to remedy.

Leave a Reply

