What is Country Music?

Monday evening I was introduced to the Staff Parish Committee of the church I will begin serving on July 1 (stay tuned for more information about that early next week).  As we sat and visited I found myself expressing a general lack of appreciation for country music.  Yesterday afternoon I put together a bio for the church to use as an introduction in the newsletter and wrote this, I am a “fan of all kinds of music; recently really enjoy things involving the banjo, fiddle, or mandolin.”

I am a fan of music involving banjo, fiddle, mandolin.  I don’t like country music?

And then the question hit me, “what is country music?”

Some of what I have really been enjoying lately:

The Avett Brothers – Laundry Room

Mumford and Sons – Roll Away Your Stone

The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow

For what it’s worth, iTunes classifies the albums from which the Avett Brothers and Mumford and Sons tracks come as “rock” and The Civil Wars as “Country & Folk.”

So, do I like country music?

How do you define country music?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “What is Country Music?

  1. This is a great point, Jeff. While the Country Music Association has taken country music in a more profitable direction by making it more pop, bands like Avett Brothers and Mumford and Sons (and I would argue, Arcade Fire) are the true heirs of the title Country.

    • Jeff Clinger

      Thanks for commenting, Paul. I decided not to venture into it in the post, but I know that I was also turned off of “country” music by some of the ideology espoused. Particularly Toby Keith’s post 9/11 work.

      • Cathy Giessen

        Yeah Jeff — amen on TK! And go Jayhawks! Henry and I have going to watch a game at the Phog on our Bucket List! enjoying your blog a lot!

      • Jeff Clinger

        Thanks for the comment, Cathy. And thanks for being such a regular reader.

        You and Henry must make a trip to AFH!

Leave a Reply

