Ash Wednesday 2011

Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of another Lenten journey.  A couple of years ago I wrote a bit about how I have struggled  to successfully give something up for Lent.  While the TV fast of ’09 was a good experience, I have decided this year to approach lent as an opportunity to readopt some disciplines that I have let slide.

Since being appointed to again serve in the church on 2/1/11 most of my scripture reading has been focused around sermon preparation.  This isn’t the devotional practice I desire.  To help focus my time in scripture and connection with God during these 40 days I’m using a reading program put together by Lawrence First as a part of  Lenten Walking Program.  Folks will be gathering on Saturday mornings for a light breakfast, a chance to reflect on the scriptures, and a walk on the property of Lawrence First’s West Campus.

I am also taking the opportunity to recommit myself to regular routines of exercise as a way of caring for my body and spirit.  Over the last 18 months or so I have told myself countless times that I was going to get back into these healthy routines.  Countless times I have not.  So, my plan is to do sit-ups and stretch daily, to lift weights three times a week, and to walk/run as my healing ankle allows.

How about you? Are you doing anything intentional for Lent?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ash Wednesday 2011

  1. mira

    Hey Jeff,
    Eric and I are giving up internet TV (we currently watch about 4 shows per week) and have committed to doing the daily office, or another time of prayer from the Book of Common Prayer, together. I look forward to hearing how your practices go!
    Mira

Leave a Reply

