Give Us This Day Our Daily… Donut Hole?

Until recently I was attending FUMC Lawrence where Heather is on staff.  They have donut holes out before, during, and after worship at the West Campus.  People like this.  A lot.

A couple of months ago as h and I were getting ready to head to church I asked, “Are you ready to go to church so you can see your friends and play and sing with mommy.”  She replied, “I wanna go to church an’ have a dona’ hole.” At least she’s excited about going to church?

On another recent Sunday I was standing in line for communion and there was a little girl with her parents in front of me, I would guess she wasn’t yet two.  Her mom was holding her and I could see that she was clutching a soggy chocolate donut hole.  Her mom broke a piece of bread from the loaf, dipped it in the cup, and offered it to the little girl.  She firmly pursed her lips and turned her head away.  Turning away from the communion elements she chomped down on her donut hole.

While I chuckled to myself at the cuteness of the moment I was simultaneously struck by the powerful symbolism of what I had just witnessed.  I know that, in a variety of ways, I often choose the junk of the world when the truly nourishing gift of God’s abundant love is right in front of me.

How about you?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Give Us This Day Our Daily… Donut Hole?

  1. Not only do I reach for what is gratifying, I hesitate to accept that which places demands on me. Indeed the symbolism is deep. When we humbly receive the bread and the cup we enter into a covenant again…to be. We are to be the body of Christ. It would be a lot easier to just eat donut holes.

Leave a Reply

