The Great Ankle Sprain of ’11

Monday was my birthday.  I set the alarm a bit earlier than usual and got up to go for a run.  It felt like I would be starting off my 32nd year the right way.  As I neared home I experienced what can only be called an unfortunate freak intersection of darkness, an  icy patch, a pothole, some slushy mess, and my awkward coordination.  I rolled my ankle.  Hard.  Something popped.  I had never experienced anything like it.  By some miracle I managed not to fall and slowly walked/limped my sorry self the rest of the way home.

This picture was taken within the hour after returning from my run.

This picture was taken tonight as I was waiting to have my foot and ankle x-rayed.

The good news (I guess) is that it isn’t broken.  For the next several days I will continue to practice the new acronym I learned today – RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation).  Ah, the joys of growing older…

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “The Great Ankle Sprain of ’11

  1. DC

    Been there, done that – too many times to count. Follow the directions and plan to be off your feet for a bit. Hannah will have a great time waiting on Daddy!

  2. Mary

    I did that within a couple of weeks of Maggie being born. Take extra time and keep your foot up, sprains take a long time to heal and need to be treated right. Need any meals?

    • Mary, we’re fine on the meal front, but you’re very generous to ask! I don’t let others take care of me very well, so prayers for Heather’s patience with me would be appreciated. 🙂

  3. What? You don’t let others take care of you? I missed that for about 21 years. Seriously, this getting older thing is not so bad…just that gravity is not our friend. Big hug.

    • Oh momma, you know what I mean. I seem to have this stubborn insistence to keep going and to do things for myself even when I should slow down and let others do things for me. I wonder where I get that…? 🙂

  4. Nancy

    Jeff, I think you might have been more fortunate with a break rather than “just” a sprain. Prayers for patience, healing, rest, patience, Heather’s patience, most use of your “1st/slow” gear, and a little more patience for good measure. 😉

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Great Ankle Sprain of ’11 | Changing To Bring Change -- Topsy.com

  6. Emily Reeves Grammer

    I’m late on this, but I’m sad to say that in the 35th week of pregnancy, this is what my ankles look like *all the time*. I hope you’re recovering well and enjoying the new ministry!!

  7. Pingback: My Ankle Hurts: Reflections on the Body of Christ | Changing To Bring Change

Leave a Reply

