Monday, September 21st – New Beginning

Today begins a recommitment to eating how I know I need to.  A little more than two and a half years ago I followed the diet advice of Dr. Mary Vernon, one of the country’s leading experts on carbohydrate restriction, and had great success.  To date I’ve kept most of the weight off, but have let some of my good eating habits slip over the course of the last year.  I want to again be eating correctly for the sake of my metabolic health as well as my weight.  I’m currently investigating the most inexpensive way to test my blood sugar and lipid panel and hope to soon establish some baseline numbers for my recommitment.

Morning weigh-in: 209.4

Breakfast: 3 scrambled eggs (scrambled with whole milk) and 1 piece of bacon

Snack: Peanut Butter Balance Bar

Lunch: Smoked Sausage from Vt. Street BBQ with spicy BBQ sauce.  1/2 cup cottage cheese. 1/4 cup coleslaw. 1 sweet potato fry (I had to try them).

Snack: 1/3 cup mixed nuts

Dinner: tuna salad (1 can of tuna, 1 TB mayo, 1 tsp sugar free pickle relish). 4 slices cheddar cheese. 1 strawberry.  small handful of grapes.

Snack: 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 2-3 sliced strawberries with splenda.

Fluid Intake: roughly 74 ounces of water

Reflections: All in all I feel good about this first day back to intentionally focusing on my eating habits.  I made good choices at each of my meals and had good snacks.  I would like to drink closer to a gallon of water each day, but know that I’ll have to build back up to that.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Monday, September 21st – New Beginning

  1. Jan Todd

    Hi Jeff,
    Sounds like peace is coming back and that’s great! Hey – I’ve lost 25 lbs. since July – plan on loosing at least that much more – just low calorie/ lowfat and I eat miracle foods. I love to drink Kefer – which is an amazing probiotic!

    I’ll keep posted on your progress.
    Grace, Jan

    • Paul, I have heard of Larabar, but am not overly familiar with them. Glancing at their website now, they look tolerable, but not great. The Peanut Butter Cookie (which would definitely be one of my favorites) has only 5 grams of protein and 16 grams of sugar. The protein bars I choose have anywhere from 10-20 grams of protein and only 2-4 grams of net carbohydrate (carbs – fiber – sugar alcohols). It’s all relative, though. If you’re putting one of these in your lunch instead of a ding dong it’s a great first step! If you’re looking for the optimum high-protein/low-carb snack, it’s probably not Larabar.

      Jan, congrats! Keep up the good work. Heather and Hannah and I would love to see you and Mitch sometime soon.

      • pberry

        Thanks for the info, Jeff. The reason I got into Larabar to begin with was the low ingredient count/raw food aspect. Would love a post soon on bars that you would recommend.

      • Paul, many of the bars that I prefer do contain a lot of chemicals. It’s a real deterrent for some, but I don’t let it bother me. I’ll work on something on bars for a couple of days from now.

  2. pberry

    Hey Jeff,

    Have you heard of LARABAR? How do they come out on the metabolic side of things?

    Best,

    p

Leave a Reply

