Television Habits Still Changed After Easter

I gave up TV for Lent and it wasn’t as hard as I thought it might be.  In fact, I really haven’t had the TV on much since Easter.  And when it has been on, I’ve often found myself feeling a little annoyed by what is on.

Heather and I went out for dinner tonight, grabbed some Starbucks and then headed home to enjoy a beautiful evening on the back deck reading/doing a little work.  As I sat and read, Heather’s Starbucks cup caught my eye…

“Americans spend an average of 29 hours a week watching television – which means in a typical life span we devote 13 uninterrupted years to our TV sets!  The biggest problem with mass media isn’t low quality – it’s high quantity.  Cutting down just an hour a day would provide extra years of life – for music and family, exercise and reading, conversation and coffee.” – Michael Medved, Author of Right Turns and radio talk show host

29 hours a week?!  That’s more than 1/7th of our time spent with a TV on.  I know that I’m going to continue to be intentional about keeping the television off when there are other things that I would rather be doing like reading, listening to music, connecting with friends, playing with Hannah, or spending time with Heather.

Are there things you wish you had time to do each day or each week?  Might you have some hours available if you turned the TV off?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Television Habits Still Changed After Easter

  1. Due to some life changes I am currently without a television (actually there is an old one downstairs, but not plugged in). I can cheat online, you can watch most anything online. But I do enjoy not having a television for now.

  2. Pingback: Ash Wednesday 2011 | Changing To Bring Change

Leave a Reply

