Church of the Resurrection – Liberal or Conservative?

I appreciated this recent post by Adam Hamilton, Church of the Resurrection’s senior pastor.  I have struggled with labels (especially for myself) for some time.   Compared to many I’m “liberal.”  Compared to some I’m “conservative.”  For awhile I’ve even played with the term “liberal evangelical,” but I’m not completely satisfied with that.

Have you been able to find language that fits you on a theological or political spectrum in way with which you’re comfortable?  I know I’m still wrestling with how to do so for myself.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Church of the Resurrection – Liberal or Conservative?

  1. I will never forget the conversation I had with somebody about being liberal and they mentioned Berkley and that liberal was relative. Hamilton’s post was a good one and names are difficult. The move from liberal to progressive has become problematic on a number of fronts and one is left back in a quandry.

    I am starting to wonder if the postmodern situation is one in which labels fail as we become liberal and conservative simultaneously. And still that answer fails. I know a liberal when I talk to one. I know a conservative when I talk to one. I also struggle with those who argue for a more nuanced or complex position but who ultimately lack such complexity and nuance.

    So my long rambling answer is yes and no. To be honest I feel I have to describe myself as liberal. Given our current cultural climate (theological and other) there is no other way to describe me. I believe in the radical openness of truth. But, I have been formed, for better and worse, by the religious communities I have been a part of, the conservative and the liberal.

  2. I was contemplating this very thing as I attended mass on Sunday evening. The sermon was about people not attending mass. There was a time when I didn’t go to mass. I didn’t know how to “fit in” or truly belong when my political and social beliefs are so different from the Catholic church’s. After grandma’s death, I returned for the comfort of the tradition that we knew together.

    As this was an election year, I was often confronted with how to balance my religion and political beliefs. I knew who my church would tell me to vote for, but that didn’t match for whom my faith told me to vote.

    I guess maybe that is what makes me okay with the differences – my church versus my faith. The Catholic church is the only church I know. It is how I know God and how I find comfort and peace. The tradition and almost solititude of a Catholic mass is comforting to me. I’ve visited other churches, but none feel right for me. They’ve always been welcoming and great, but the Catholic church is where I belong.

    That makes it my church, but my faith has grown beyond the church. My faith is what I put in everyday – what gets me through. If my faith were only tied to my church, I think I wouldn’t feel it as deeply. My faith is everything – church, life, love, loss, hope, etc.

    Well, Jeffrey. Guess you tapped into something for me with this post.

    Hope you are having a great day! Give my love to Heather and Hannah.

    Geiger

Leave a Reply

