Mary’s Revolutionary Magnificat

This morning in staff chapel Carol Cartmill, Resurrection’s Director of Community Life, shared a great message titled, “The Paradox of Blessedness.”  In it she used a piece of Barclay’s commentary that calls Mary’s Magnifcat one of the most revolutionary pieces of literature the world has ever known.  If I got it in my notes correctly, it is:

  1. Spiritualy Revolutionary
  2. Socially Revolutionary
  3. Economically Revolutionary

I enjoyed looking at the text in each of these ways.  Additionally, Barclay gave a head-nod to to Hannah’s song in 1 Samual, which I appreciated!

I was blessed in Staff Chapel this morning, as I often am.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

