Sacred Steps – Race Week

Last year, after changing my general health habits, I ran a 5k for the first time in my life.  I have not kept the training up this last year quite as I would’ve hoped; the move, the change in job, the expectancy of the baby – I’ve had some distractions.  Over the course of the last month or two I’ve done an ok job of running and am now planning to run (along with some 1,400 others) the Sacred Steps race at Resurrection this coming weekend. 

At one point in the last months I was articulating my goal to be a finish in less than 30 minutes.  My runs for the last week or two have been kind of ugly and I’ve started to doubt that that will happen.  This morning I ran three miles in 30:54.  I’ve decided that my hopes for the race this weekend are two-fold: 1) finish the race without walking (I’ve had some real pacing issues these last weeks) and 2) finish it in less than 31 minutes. 

Let me know if you’re coming out to run or walk this weekend and I’ll see you there!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sacred Steps – Race Week

  1. Kevin Campbell

    Good luck, Jeff! I’ll be anxious to learn how it goes.

  2. Mira

    Hey Jeff. Hope the race goes well! I just ran a 5k this past weekend…the first since college. It was fun–and I hope yours is, too, regardless of your time 🙂

  3. I will be there and I think I might try to break 30 minutes. See you there!

Leave a Reply

