Retreat Day

Tuesday afternoon I left the office and headed to Tall Oaks in beautiful Linwood, KS.  I had been there as a youth attending youth group retreats, but hadn’t been there for more than 10 years.  It was a treat to go back, to again be present in one of those places where I early on felt a call to ministry.

I went because the Staff Parish at Resurrection provides each staff person two days of personal retreat time at Tall Oaks each year and I wanted to make sure to take advantage of my day this fall before it got too cold.

Tuesday night I went to Lawrence to catch the Avett Brothers (a last minute opportunity that came up for me and was definitely good for the soul!) and then I spent the day Wednesday doing the following:

  • Reading (my Bible and other Books)
  • Running
  • Resting
  • Praying
  • Thinking
  • Reflecting
  • Enjoying (the beauty of creation and the quiet time to myself)

It was a real gift to  have this day and I am grateful to Staff Parish for providing it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

