First Funeral @ Resurrection

This morning I officiated at my first funeral at Resurrection.  It was, as many at Resurrection are, in the Wesley Covenant Chapel – a truly beautiful space.

As I robed up this morning I was intentional to put on the stole that Ridge gave me as an ordination gift earlier this summer.  It was special for me to be beginning this aspect of my ministry here with the visible symbol of Ridge’s support of my ministry.

As a thank you from the family I received a copy of The Healing Power of the Psalms by Samuel Chiel & Henry Dreher.  It is a book that had been particularly meaningful for them in the last months of their wife/mother’s life and they wanted to share it with me.  I was quite touched by their gift.

I was reminded today of what a joy it is to share these special and intimate times with families.  It truly is a blessing to be in ministry and to have such opportunities.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

