Ordination Reflection 5 of 7

Saturday, May 31st I was ordained an elder in full connection in the United Methodist Church. I am sharing my reflections on the experience in a series of posts. This is the fifth of the seven.

For whatever reason, the ordination worship service itself wasn’t terribly impacting or moving for me. Three years ago when I was commissioned I remember being deeply moved – once as we sang a hymn, another time as the Bishop offered an invitation to ministry and young people came forward for prayer. None of the music moved me that deeply this year and the Bishop did a similar invitation to ministry, but it didn’t seem to get the same kind of response as it had three years ago – from people in the congregation or from me.

The neatest part of the service for me was having Michael Brandner, one of Ridge‘s youth, carry in a banner that had been made to be a part of the service. North Indiana has a cool tradition of inviting churches to make a banner for their pastor that will be used during the ordination service and then given to the pastor. I look forward to hanging this banner in my new office at Resurrection or in our new home

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

