Remembering MLK – 40 Years Later


Yesterday was the 40th anniversary of Martin Luther King’s assasination as he worked to bring about justice for the striking Memphis sanitation workers.

Working on my sermon this morning I keep going back to a piece I heard on NPR yesterday afternoon that included an audio exerpt from a sermon King preached just two months before he was killed.

I won’t have any money to leave behind. I won’t have the fine and luxurious things of life to leave behind. But I just want to leave a committed life behind. (Amen) And that’s all I want to say.

If I can help somebody as I pass along,

If I can cheer somebody with a word or song,

If I can show somebody he’s traveling wrong,

Then my living will not be in vain.

If I can do my duty as a Christian ought,

If I can bring salvation to a world once wrought,

If I can spread the message as the master taught,

Then my living will not be in vain.

Yes, Jesus, I want to be on your right or your left side, (Yes) not for any selfish reason. I want to be on your right or your left side, not in terms of some political kingdom or ambition. But I just want to be there in love and in justice and in truth and in commitment to others, so that we can make of this old world a new world.

These prophetic and powerful words speak to me deeply. I hope that I too can live a life that touches others and speaks of God’s justice.

If you’d like to read the sermon in it’s entirety you can do so here.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Remembering MLK – 40 Years Later

  1. Anonymous

    I enjoyed this in your sermon too.

Leave a Reply

