Health/Fitness Update

Nearly 15 months ago now I began changing the way I eat and live and exercise. I wrote here quite a bit about the early months, but haven’t much lately. Search weight or health or fitness if you want to read some of my story.

I am pleased to say that I feel like the changes in eating habits have stuck. I have my routines, I know what my body needs, and for the most part I do a good job providing it with the fuel it needs.

Through this particularly cold winter I have not worked out as much as I would have liked, but have still managed to stay in decent shape. Over the last couple of weeks I haven’t snacked much at all in the evening and have noticed the big difference that this makes. This morning the scale read 187, the lowest it has in all of these months (and probably since 8th grade or so). This reflects a weight loss of 69.6 pounds in these 15 months; more than 27% of the total body weight I started with. And over these months my heart health calculations have all improved too – total cholesterol down, HDL is up, LDL is down, Triglycerides down, blood pressure down.

According to the official BMI calculators I am no longer overweight, I am healthy or normal. A year and a half ago I never thought that this would be possible. I owe a great deal to the high protein/low carbohydrate lifestyle and the work of Dr. Atkins, Dr. Vernon, and others.

As the weather warms again I will get back into my routines and will run at least one 5K this summer/fall. I’m even contemplating upping my distance to a 10K. Only time will tell. If you have weight loss/fitness/health goals, they are possible! I know that if I can do it, anyone can.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Health/Fitness Update

  1. thoughtsofresurrection

    Jeff – Thanks for the inspiration. I have been trying to lose a few pounds as well and have found Traineo to be a helpful service. Hope Holy Week is great.

    Andrew Conard

  2. Jeff

    Thanks Andrew, I look forward to checking out Traineo. I also like to use mapmyrun.com for tracking workouts and putting together running routes. You might check it out.

Leave a Reply

