Lenten Disciplines

Lent begins today. Many people often give up something during Lent (popcorn, chocolate, caffeine, or even facebook); it is typically something that is near and dear to them.

Over the last couple of years I have chosen to adopt a new discipline for Lent rather than to let something go. This year I’m going to be recommitting myself to a couple of things:

1.) I’m going to recommit to a disciplined exercise regimen – cardio at least three times a week and weight work at least twice. I’ve let this slide a little in ’08.

2.) I’m going to be more intentional about spending time in devotion and study each day. I hit a pretty good stride in the fall and was doing this well, but haven’t as much the last month or so. I’ll be continuing to read through the psalms, as well as through the Gospel of Mark. I’ll also be using a Lenten devotional that Ridge Church has made available.

Feel free to ask me how I’m doing with these disciplines. Will you be giving up or taking on anything for Lent?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

