College Basketball Class

I won’t lie, I’m disappointed that KU lost tonight. I didn’t really think they’d make it through the season undefeated, but I always hope they’ll beat K-State – it’s the rivalry thing.

The last time K-State beat KU in Manhattan was 1983 – the last episode of M*A*S*H aired that year, gas was $1.29 a gallon, and Ronald Reagan was still president – and I was not quite 3. I have no doubt that tonight’s win was a big one for K-State…

But still, was it necessary for the K-State fans to storm the floor as if they’d just won a national championship? I can hear my middle school and high school coaches now – when you score, act like it’s something you’re used to doing and when you win act like it’s something that you’ve done before too.

And, as I head to bed tonight, I will rest well, knowing that, if nothing else, no KU player has peed themselves while on the floor this year.* And I can say with much confidence that one won’t either. I remain proud to be a Jayhawk!

*I’m resisting the temptation to post the video here, I want to be the bigger person. But, if one were to go to youtube and search some key words they could find video of Bill Walker at the end of the K-State/Oregon game earlier this year.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “College Basketball Class

  1. Andy Woolard

    you know, k-state got what they paid for. and you know, i need no more proof that that program is shady than to see that they’ve kept the likes of Bea$ley and Walker in Manhattan, KS by sacrificing their coach’s clothing budget. seriously, what was Martin wearing? looked like he’d scored big at a MC Hammer firesale.

Leave a Reply

