Thou Shalt Not Covet

Which is proving very hard watching the Macworld Keynote.

Heather and I have been talking about getting a MacBook for awhile now. We are kicking around starting a Clinger Family website, we have much we want to do with pictures, and we’re wanting to learn more about video editing. A MacBook seems like the way to go.

I’ve been exploring apple’s web presence a bit over the last couple of weeks and stumbled on the other day after Macworld 2008.

Now I’d like a MacBook Air

And an iPhone

And Apple TV

Darn you Steve Jobs, Darn you!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Thou Shalt Not Covet

  1. Anonymous

    http://www.feedthepig.org

    There is a TV commercial that made me curious. So I looked at this briefly. Maybe we should look at it more closely.

  2. Anonymous

    Stop being so greedy. You have so much high-tech stuff already.

  3. Heather

    Well, your birthday isn’t too far away…perhaps a rich friend will decide to become your anonymous donor. It could happen! 😉

    and while anonymous #2 is correct, that’s a bit harsh. just my $.02

  4. Kevin

    High-tech is definitely not my forte. I just tried to figure out how to put some songs on my wife’s iPod. That was a joke. I couldn’t even get the stinkin’ song to iTunes, much-less from there to the iPod. Good grief. Well, better get back to my candle-lit straw hut. Need to heat up some water to wash clothes in tonight, and the fire is running out of wood.

    And I’m with Heather – anonymous #2 was quite harsh.

  5. Jeff

    Kevin, Heather, and Anons. Thanks for your comments.

    Anon #2, relax. I’m not really pursuing the purchase of all of those products. I “want” them in the same way that we want anything new and shiny when we see a convincing ad campaign and say to ourselves, “oh yeah, my life would be more complete if I had that in it…”

    But then I wake up and remember things like 1) the basic macbook is all we need to do what we want or 2) I’m too cheap to pay the monthly service contract for an iPhone or 3) I don’t even own the appropriate kind of tv to even make Apple TV work.

    My post was more about slick marketing than my own desire to consume (though it was about some of both).

  6. Anonymous

    Jeff,
    Your coveting sounds fairly harmless to me – of course I don’t even know what any of those things you mentioned are or what you would use them for. As you saw last night, coveting such items will never be my sin. I couldn’t even set my phone to mute without doing something wrong!
    Diane

Leave a Reply

